Like jelly shoes, our state laws are clear.
If your child is under 21 and drinking alcohol, vaping, smoking or using tobacco products, marijuana, or drugs – he or she is breaking the law.
Here’s the lowdown:
Our state laws are clear: It is illegal for anyone under the age of 21 to purchase or use tobacco, alcohol, e-cigarettes, marijuana, or drugs.
Here are some basic facts on laws in Maine that you should know:
- You must be 21 or older to purchase, possess, or use marijuana – unless it is prescribed for medical use.
- It is illegal for anyone to drive under the influence of marijuana.
- Learn more about Maine’s Marijuana Laws.
- You must be 21 or older to buy any tobacco products.
- A person may not use tobacco in the buildings or on the grounds of any elementary or secondary school, on a school bus or at any school-sponsored event at any time.
- Learn more about Maine’s Tobacco Laws.
E-cigarettes, Vaping & JUULING
- E-cigarettes follow the same laws as tobacco products.
- You must be 21 or older to purchase electronic smoking devices, including e-cigarettes.
- Learn more about vaping.
- You must be 21 or older to purchase alcohol.
- Minors can be arrested for driving with any trace of alcohol in their system.
- While it is legal to allow your own child to drink alcohol under your supervision in your home (which is a really bad idea), it is illegal to allow any other minor to drink in your home.
- Some opioids like heroin are illegal. Period.
- Other opioids (like oxycodone hydrocodone, codeine, and morphine) are legal if they are used exactly as prescribed, they are illegal if misused. Misuse includes using opioids differently than prescribed, taking opioids prescribed for someone else, or using them to get high.
- State law limits opioid prescriptions to 7 days for acute pain and 30 days for chronic pain.
- Learn more about Opioids and Prescription Medications and what you can do.